Handmade

If I can do this, so can you

Woven Headband Instructions January 30, 2010

Filed under: Accessories — ddooley @ 11:50 pm
Tags: , ,

I have had several requests for woven headband instructions, so here they are! This is an easy project that makes a great addition to a birthday gift.  I usually get my supplies from The ribbon retreat (online).  The ribbon I use for woven headbands is 3/8″ thick.

Here are the supplies you will need.  lighter, scissors, 1/2″ or 1 ” headbands, 4 strands of ribbon (3 ft of each color for 1/2 “), glue (I like Fabri-Tac the best), and alligator clips.

headband instructions 003

I used Green, blue, red and yellow. I realize this is not a beautiful color combination :)  I just grabbed different colors so you could see a distinct pattern.  I cut each ribbon to 3 feet in length since I am using a 1/2 ”  headband.

headband instructions 004

Glue the ends of two ribbons together, overlapping slightly.

headband instructions 005

Next, glue the two strands together in an X pattern as shown.  I use an alligator clip to hold it while it dries.  The two colors on the left will be the inside diamond pattern (green and blue) and yellow and red will be the outside of the headband.

headband instructions 006

Glue the ribbon to the back side of the headband.  Again, the green and blue will be the inside pattern and the yellow and red will on the outside of the headband.

Now, it is time to wrap the headband. Take the yellow and fold it over the headband to the left hand side.  Take the green and fold it on top of the yellow to the right side with the red.  This will give you a yellow and blue on the left and a green and red on the right.  Wrap the green behind the headband back to the left hand side. Take the red and wrap it on top of the headband, over the green, to the left. You will now have all four on the left.  Watch the video, it takes some practice, but soon it will become very easy and fast.

Once you get to the end of the headband, these instructions will show you how to finish the ends.

You can do many different colors and designs.  Here is an example of two different headband patterns using the same colors.  For the striped pattern, I used polka-dot pink, and solid white as my inside diamond pattern (those two colors were on the left when I started) and the same thing on the right to create a striped look  For the diamond pattern I used two polka-dot-pink ribbons on the left and two white on the right.

loose tooth 003

Here is an example with a 1″ headband.  Again, I started with the polka-dot and white on the left, and green and pink on the right.

loose tooth 007

Here are some ideas of different colors and designs.

loose tooth 002

 

6 Responses to “Woven Headband Instructions”

  1. Catherine Says:

    Beautiful and easy.
    Thank you!!!

  2. Melissa Says:

    Thank you! I’ve been looking everywhere for an explanation on how to get the stripe pattern. Starting one now :)

  3. jessica Says:

    i love that you have different patterns on here. i would like to know how to know how to weave more patterns. thank you

  4. jessica Says:

    okay so i completly repeated myself lol i meant to say i would like to know how to weave more patterns

  5. Allison Says:

    Would it be okay to wrap the headband with another ribbon? I think I’ve seen it that way and then the woven portion. And THANKS for this, by the way! I was going to be taking a class tonight but no one else was signed up for it! I have all the materials and my daughter REALLY wants one and with your instructions and VIDEO (I’m more hands-on then pictures and instructions only), I think I can do it!

  6. Anila Says:

    Ii have already made one to my daughter. Its very beautiful. thanks a
    lot.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.